Nutritional Yeast

About (not) consuming fresh raw fish and fresh raw egg yolks
shanni82
https://cutt.ly/meble-kuchenne-wroclaw

Nutritional Yeast

Post by shanni82 »

Would it be ok for me to consume nutritional yeast to get my B12? I

I prefer to eat vegan, but am willing to try raw protein. However I'm concerned because I have a what may be considered a compromised immune system and have already had bouts of parasites.

I am new to the diet. Have extremely bad cystic acne. For the past four days I have had fruit including cukes/tomatoes, brazil nuts (but not approved as they're shelled), olive and coconut oil, avocados and a little bit of dark vegan chocolate and nutritional yeast. I wont be 100% until sunday, yet my skin inflammation and open cysts are already reduced.
summerwave

B12

Post by summerwave »

There is something on a previous Wai board about B12 here:

http://www.acneboard.com/AcneQandA/Forum5/000100.html

and doubtless other places, if you search a bit.

It doesn't address nutritional yeast directly in the above.
shanni82

Post by shanni82 »

thanks for that link--it is very helpful and interesting. I guess though, I am curious if nutritional yeast in particular would potentially contribute to my acne as I want to do this 100%.
summerwave

yeast

Post by summerwave »

I am pretty sure it is processed at high temperatures which would damage its protein; it seems unlikely it would be okay. I am not sure where to source that on this site, but given everything else said about protein on this diet, it seems unsafe for this reason.
Oscar
Administrator

Post by Oscar »

If you want to do it 100% then I'd advice to go for the raw protein.
shanni82

Post by shanni82 »

Oscar wrote:If you want to do it 100% then I'd advice to go for the raw protein.
thanks! i had my first tsp of egg yolk today. getting it out of the bag wasnt as hard as i'd expected.
Oscar
Administrator

Post by Oscar »

How did it taste?
shanni82

Post by shanni82 »