ear wax

Cancer, Diabetes, Osteoporosis etc.
Mr. PC
https://cutt.ly/meble-kuchenne-wroclaw

ear wax

Post by Mr. PC »

About a month ago I had a cold, and my left ear got plugged with wax (I'm assuming it's wax, that's what it feels like). The cold is long gone but whenever I sleep on my left side the left ear gets plugged and I can't hear (well) out of it. Sometimes it'll pop and I can hear again. I was going to get my mom to candle it, since she's been doing it to my brother and sister since we were kids and has done it to me a couple of times, and I felt like it worked well, but I recently read some articles about how candling does nothing, and the article makes sense.

I was thinking of have the doctor wash it out, but I find that to be painful and I'm really cautious with my ears as I'm a musician. Is it best to just wait it out? I've been waiting about a month now and I'm afraid that leaving it to long could result in hearing loss. I guess it wouldn't be something going on the 100% sample diet would help, eh? What about putting drops of Olive Oil in my ear?
panacea

Re: ear wax

Post by panacea »

First of all, good job on asking, many people don't know how harmful most ear cleaning practices are. Q-tips are worthless and sometimes harmful, unless cleaning the outside portions of the ear (in the crevices). For internal ear, you have to be VERY careful!! First of all, if the problem is primarily ear *wax*, (like not trapped water) then you shouldn't worry too much, especially after a cold. I don't know if the popping is from wax or water get someone elses opinion on that. Candling does nothing for wax just relaxes you sometimes. Anyway keep in mind the wax is in the ear to PROTECT IT (from loud sounds) and as the wax pushes outward it carries out dirt and other matter that gets down there, if the ear is irritated, wax production can increase.