Iodide

About specific vitamines, minerals or fiber, for example
andyville
https://cutt.ly/meble-kuchenne-wroclaw

Iodine

Post by andyville »

I am a university student and I remember reading a book by Bertrand Russell a while back, in which he wrote something like "a deficiency in iodine makes a bright man slow".

I sometimes experience a hard time concentrating on school work, and would like to make sure that I get enough of iodine. Do you have any suggestions on what a good and safe solution would be? Table salt with added iodine is not a good option for me as I am not a big fan of salt. What do you think about kelp pills? I do eat raw egg yolks but stay away from seafood.

Thanks a bunch,
Andy.
RRM
Administrator

Post by RRM »

If you dont want to eat seafood, particularly egg yolk, bananas and mango provide you with iodide.
If you are not susceptible to acne, seaweed is also an option (very tasty in a salad),
though may contain way too much.

Iodide in mcg / 100 g.
250,000 kelp
1,600 nori
330 mullet
243 haddock
200 saithe / coalfish
170 cod
99 red fish / ocean perch
58 oysters
52 halibut
50 mackerel
50 tuna
48 horse mackerel / jack mackerel
34 salmon
12 egg yolk
7 beef
3 banana
2 mango
Orange juice contains about 10 mcg per L
Kasper

Iodide

Post by Kasper »

Just found an article about benifits of high-iodide intakes.
Japanese women, who are eating lots of seaweed, have the highest iodine intake (13.8 mg. daily) of women anywhere in the world. They also have the lowest incidence of breast cancer in the world. Japan has one of the lowest worldwide rates of every type of cancer with the exception of stomach cancer. In addition Japan has one of the lowest incidences of iodine deficiency, goiter (enlarged thyroid gland), and hypothyroidism. Iceland, another high iodine intake country, has low rates of goiter and breast cancer. Two countries with low iodine intakes (Thailand, Mexico) have high rates of breast cancer and goiter.