I might have to quit the diet!

Challenges and trouble-shooting
Sara
https://cutt.ly/meble-kuchenne-wroclaw

I might have to quit the diet!

Post by Sara »

My mom says I can't continue the diet cause I'm not drinking milk - which would lead to weak skeleton or something. I don't know if it's kalcium that I'm missing out on.. but I think so. Do you really need to drink milk, or is it just something we believe, to get kalcium? I might sound confused but I'm not good at formulating in english..
I thought that I got kalcium (or whatever it's called) by eating the sample diet.. Don't I? What should I tell my mother??
Sara

Post by Sara »

ehmm i mean calcium.
Oscar
Administrator

Post by Oscar »

You're getting more than enough calcium. Fruit, egg yolk, fish all contain calcium. We don't need to drink milk at all! Milk is meant for baby cows, and has a specific composition aimed at baby cows, which isn't that good for humans.
Actually too much calcium could cause osteoporosis at a later age: http://www.4.waisays.com/ExcessiveCalcium.htm

The daily recommended amount of calcium (and other nutrients too, though to a lesser extent) is far too high. Read more here:
http://www.youngerthanyourage.com/3/index.html
Official recommendations don't reflect human requirements.
Biologists know that nutrient requirements of any species can be determined by examining nutrient contents of its natural foods, but for some reason this is not applied to the human species. For example official calcium recommendations are much higher than calcium contents of our natural foods. To meet these recommendations, we need to consume milk, something we never did for over 99% of our existence. 'Apparently' humans are not submitted to nature's laws, but to political choices only.
The basic assumption applied to justify these political choices is:
Average mineral absorption rate is low, which we can compensate by consuming more mineral-rich foods.