muscle definition & exercise

How to prevent unwanted weightloss, and/or even gain muscles
summerwave
https://cutt.ly/meble-kuchenne-wroclaw

muscle definition & exercise

Post by summerwave »

I have a friend who is a Master's swimmer. She is 50 years old; followed a raw diet then Wai for the past 3 years, doesn't take any hormones etc., and says she thinks her regular exposure to cold water (including swimming outdoors) gives her a "sleeker" look than the stringy, or more 'ripped' look of athletes in other sports.

She says that regular exposure to cold water slowly builds up superficial fat all over the body, and she prefers this in her physique. She notes she thinks she will never look as "ripped" as someone on Wai who doesn't swim.

She also works out with weights like RRM does, so it is not just a matter of different contours from the muscles demanded by swimming that would give her this look. Even in younger athletes, she says, if you look at Olympic swimmers they look less ripped/defined for this reason; smoother overall.

Does this sound like science, RRM? (From looking at other longterm swimmers, I cannot tell, as so few follow a Wai diet, I think...) She is comparing herself before and after a Wai diet, and says she never sees the 'ripped' effect from reduced retention of water (which, again, she doesn't mind).
RRM
Administrator

Re: muscle definition & exercise

Post by RRM »

summerwave wrote:She says that regular exposure to cold water slowly builds up superficial fat all over the body
Yes, thats correct. Swimmers never look as ripped as top athletes in others sports, because the layer of superficial fat simply prevents that.
summerwave

swimming and musculature

Post by summerwave »

Very good information.

That is an important footnote to all of the Wai b-board material on looking 'ripped'-- thank you.

Like my friend, I desire most of all a healthy body, but with that said, I prefer the look of it with more, rather than less, superficial fat.